Bean and Nut Loaf Dinner

DSC05032

The best part of my job is that I get to pick the brains of my co workers. These co workers are: Therapists, nutritionists, acupuncturists, chiefs, message therapists, art therapists, psych nurses, and Ayurveda practitioners. I get so much great information from all of them. This next recipe came from Colleen, one of our chiefs. I have expanded on it and made it into a wonderful meal.  I made two loafs and then cut them up and froze them.  I just pull a piece out for each meal and heat it up in the oven.

DSC05023

I usually make a simple salad:  Arugula, tomatoes, and a simple dressing is great.  Then I roast some veggies and heat up the loaf at the same time.  Avocado is essential, either in the salad or just on the side to eat with the loaf.

DSC05026

Bean and Nut Loaf
makes 2 loaves

1 cup soaked cashews (soak for at least 1/2 and hour in warm water)
2 16 oz cans beans or 2 cups cooked beans (any bean works, except maybe garbanzo beans)
4 cups cooked barley
4 cloves garlic
1 medium onion
1 cup shredded carrot
2 teaspoons cumin powder
salt and pepper to taste
4 eggs
1/2-1 cup flour
1 tsp baking powder

Preheat oven to 350 and grease 2 loaf pans.

Saute onions until they start to become translucent. Then add the garlic and carrot and cook for another 3 minutes. Put cashews, beans, barley, sauteed veggies, cumin, salt, and pepper in a food processor and process to desired consistency. I like it a bit chunky, but you can do whatever you want. Stir in eggs, flour, and baking powder and then put mixture in loaf pans.

Bake for 1/2 an hour with tinfoil over the top. Remove tinfoil and bake for another 1/2 hour. Let cool and then cut and freeze on a cookie trey. Store in a airtight bag in the freezer.

Simple Salad

Greens – spinach, arugula, or a spring mix
Tomato
Avocado

Dressing
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 garlic clove
salt and pepper to taste

Combine in a jar and shake.

Roasted Veggies

Zucchini
Cherry tomatoes
or and other veggies you like…
Olive oil
Salt and pepper

Toss veggies with oil, salt, and pepper.  Roast in a 350 oven for 1/2 an hour or until tender.

I love this meal because of the mixture of raw and cooked components and because I can make myself a huge plate without feeling stuffed when I am done.  Because of how much I like eating this is a huge plus!

Leave a Reply

